Appreciated Knits

As knitters, we all know that giving away your hand knit items does not guarantee they will be appreciated. I personally like giving my knitting to others because, if I keep it for myself, whenever I pick it up I just think of all the time and effort that went into creating the item. It makes me less likely to actually use whatever it is because I’m so worried I will damage my hard work. The thing is though, handknits are meant to be used. That may mean the occasional snagged stitch or stain. Especially for baby items.

When my (now former) coworker told me he and his wife were expecting their first child, I knit up a sweater and hat for them. Once little Miles arrived, I began to see the hat I knit for him popping up in various baby pictures. Unfortunately, the hat was too big and, since it is the coldest part of winter, I knit up a simple hat to send to him.

After the hat arrived, the Dad sent me the obligatory “here’s my baby in the hat you sent” picture. It actually fit and was super cute. Since then though, I have seen the hat in several pictures that have shown up on Twitter and Facebook from the parents. Baby Miles seems to be sporting my little hat for so many of his outings.

So when I had an absolutely terrible day yesterday, I noticed a post in my Twitter feed with a picture of that sweet little baby in my hat. It really made me smile to realize that the little hat I sent down and pour hours of my life into is really getting used. It is out there keeping that charming little head warm and that was such a great feeling.

Of course, that now means I have to knit all kinds of things for Miles now that I realize his parents will really appreciate them. Luckily, that is no hardship.

7 thoughts on “Appreciated Knits

  1. I’m always so careful about who I will make things for and it’s always lovely to see how much things we’ve worked on appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

