At the Wheel

I am trying my hand at some gradient yarn spinning. I got this gorgeous fiber from Fiber Artemis on Etsy. I thought to split the roving and evenly down the middle as I could, then spin each one so that, hopefully, when I go to ply, the colors changes will be maintained. Since starting this, I have learned that I could have done a chain ply but… whatever.

This is, by far, my most even single I have spun yet. It’s still a long way from truly even but I’m pleased with my project. It is also the thinnest I have spun. The singles are still looking rather fuzzy but maybe that is the fiber? It’s a Romney, I believe, which I’ve read is a rougher, fuzzier wool.

I finished one bobbin last night and I have already started the second. I am really excited to see how this turns out so that I can figure out what to make with it.

photo 5 photo 4

7 thoughts on “At the Wheel

  1. It looks good and the colours are charming. Warm looking pleases me at the moment so this one gets the thumbs up. Maybe it’s the fibre which denotes how fine the spinning is. I am spinning with merino and it comes up quite thick. When I spin with Targhee, I get a finer thread. Do you know if that makes a difference?

    • I would think that there is something to that. I’m not experienced enough or well researched enough to know for certain. I have read that silk is easy to spin super thin because it has such long fibers. I have also heard that the texture of a yarn can be affected by the type of wool. Like Romney is one of the easiest to spin with for beginners because of the long staple, but it is really rough and makes for a fuzzier yarn.
      I’ll have to look into the Merino thing and see what I can find out. I am spinning with a Corriedale right now and it seems much much easier to spin finer yarn.

      • I think Merino has a medium/short staple (without looking it up), but it is very, very soft! I tried Alpaca and silk mixed and that was lovely to spin with to, but it didn’t come up very fine when I did it. I must also do some more research.

      • I was just looking it to it. A lot of people say they have a hard time with Merino turning out thick and thin because of how it drafts and the softness of the fiber. All of the suggestions I saw said you need to majorly pre-draft into super thin pieces and fluff them up with a comb or something. I have some more merino at home that I would really really like to spin into a nice, even yarn so I will have to practice a bit before I tackle it.

      • I’ll post a pic of what I plied a couple of days ago. Then you can use it as a comparison when you have a go. I think I’m still learning when it comes to thick and then, but then again they do say that once you get to do it evenly all the time, you can’t go back to the thick and thin. Also I rather like the effect it has once knitted. It has more texture. See what you think when you try it. Must admit I don’t think I could be asked to draft it all out first, although I do get it to a certain point before I start.

      • I think the fiber definitely must have an affect. I just started spinning a blend of 50% merino, 25% silk and 25% bamboo and it is spinning like nothing else I’ve tried. It is the finest and evenest thing I have spun yet. I have to attribute it to the silk or bamboo I guess. They let me do nice long drafts.
        Everyone tells me that about even yarn – once you get it, you can’t go back. I’m not to that point at all yet so it is hard to imagine.

  2. Pingback: A Gradient Thing | Good Witch Knits

Leave a Reply

