Let There Be Sock!

I finished knitting my first ever sock! The yarn is a wonderful handspun from one of the ladies at my knitting night and it made the sock process a joy. I had originally planned on giving these sock pair to my mom (since I am not much of a sock wearer) but it came out fairly large. I have big feet and ankles so it fits me and I guess that means it’s meant to be mine. It still is slightly looser on me than I would like but, considering how rarely I wear real socks, I’m not concerned.

The weather in Texas yesterday was over 70 degrees so I got to sit on the patio and take a couple pictures. Of course, because this is Texas and we have fickle weather, it’s back down to 40 today.

In even bigger news than finishing one sock… I actually started the second! I did the ribbing last night. Take that, Second Sock Syndrome!

Of course, sock knitting has turned out to be perfect for watching my Korean dramas. All the stockinette means I don’t have to watch my hands so I can read the subtitles.

Can I just say, photographing your own foot is an awkward process…

photo 1 photo 2

4 thoughts on “Let There Be Sock!

  1. Nice job! I haven’t had a problem with SSS, either, because once I have *one* sock done, I want to wear them – so the second sock gets cast on almost immediately. Beautiful handspun, by the way. I’m so envious!!

    • I think that’s how I’m feeling. I was so in awe of the first sock getting finished and that it fit me that I really want to wear them.
      Isn’t it the best? Everyone in our knitting group will tell you that this lady has magical spinning abilities. I am totally amazed by how even and wonderful to work with the yarn is.

Leave a Reply

