Shut-in Knitting

A couple of weeks ago, the DFW area was hit with an ice storm. Being Texas who only experience ice every few years, we were dreadfully unprepared. Roads were terrible and everyone got stranded at home. It took about 3 days for another city to send us trucks to use to clear the roads. My power at my house went out and, when I attempted to go to work in the morning, my car got stuck on the ice one street from my house. My dad and brother-in-law came and rescued me and took me and the dog to my parents house to stay until my power returned. It took about 24 hours to get repaired and, even then, my heater still wasn’t working.

The result was spending 2 days at my parents’ house, along with my two nephews (ages 6 and 10) and my 13 year old niece (who is pretty awesome for her age, I think). I had, of course, packed copious amounts of knitting.

My ice storm cast-on’s were…

The Honey Cowl in Miss Babs Northumbria DK. The color is Jack’s Frost. This was the November Knitcrate yarn and I adore it. The pattern is simple and easy and makes a really nice texture.

photo 4 photo 5

I also did the unthinkable and cast on (gasp) a sock! I’m decidedly not a sock knitter but the handspun yarn I had from Micki inspired me to try. Since I was not at home, and my mom doesn’t have a swift, I had to have my mother hold the hank of yarn while I wound 450 yards (give or take) by hand. The result was that I got to cast on and knit a fair amount of a sock.

photo 3My favorite part of the weekend was that my 6 year old nephew (who is normally a very active and wild little boy) saw me knitting and said “I could do that”. After a brief lesson, we had him knitting away on a his own little project. He did fairly well with it. He doesn’t quite have the dexterity to pull the yarn through and slip the old stitch off like he needs to, but he figured out that he could just lift the old stitch over and off by hand. I was incredibly proud, even if it meant that I had to stop my own knitting to cast on and off for him every so often. He knit “bracelets” for everyone in the room.

photo 10 photo 20 photo 30

photo 40

2 thoughts on “Shut-in Knitting

    • I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m about half way now and I saw some people complain about the pattern being too mindless (more like mind numbing) but I haven’t felt that way.

Leave a Reply

