Black Friday Shopping

I am not the sort to rip myself from my warm bed the morning after Thanksgiving at some ungodly hour to go shop. However, I will purchase yarn online for my portion of the Black Friday savings. Not that I need an excuse to purchase yarn, but the discounts don’t hurt.

Here’s what I picked up.

A new set of the Caspian double pointed needles from Knit Picks. They’re so pretty! I don’t think they were on sale but I don’t have many of the smaller size DPNs and I wanted to hit the minimum for free shipping.

photo 5

Three skeins of Diadem DK Special Reserve from Knit Picks in Gold. This yarn is so soft that when it came it, I slid it out of the box and then cussed at its softness. I intend to knit it into the gorgeous French Cancan Shawl.

photo 4

Three skeins of Lorna’s Laces Lion and Lamb in the color Aslan (like the lion I assume?). This came from Eat.Sleep.Knit.  If you’re doing the Yarnathon like I am, this yarn is a 100% power boost right now, so the yardage counts for double. I think this might become the Clapotis shawl/scarf thing.

photo 2

Two skeins each of Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Grasshopper and Smokestack. Also from Eat.Sleep.Knit. It is intended for the Brick Road Cowl. I saw the sample at MadTosh done in pink and grey and loved it. I wanted to go for colors that were totally not my normal choice. The green of Grasshopper isn’t quite the electric color I thought it might be when I was making “bold” choices, but I like the colors well enough.

photo 3

As an added bonus, all my shopping bumped me up in the Yarnathon so I earned $20 in store credit and I am really close to the next level – which would earn me a shirt. Plus, when the order came in I won a free mitten kit from the little scratch off cards they throw in. So I am excited to see what that will be.

Now I just need to actually get to knitting… and updating my Ravelry stash…

 

2 thoughts on “Black Friday Shopping

Leave a Reply

