Finished Project: Promise Me Lace Shawl

Finally, I got this photographed. I finished it October 1st and got it all blocked and pretty, but had yet to take any decent photos. So here it is, my first-ever lace shawl. And the first time using beads. And the first time using mohair. And the first time knitting with lace weight yarn. So, yeah, this is a bit of a personal accomplishment for me. I am superbly pleased by the result. The pattern is Promise Me by Boo Knits and is deceptively easy to knit. The yarn is Rowan Kidsilk Haze in Dewberry. The beads were some random ones from Joann’s in the color Moonstone Mix. I didn’t have the frustrations with the yarn that many reported, although I admittedly would not have wanted to frog any significant number of stitches. Luckily, that wasn’t an issue in the project. Actually, it went shockingly well. There is one little section where I got a stitch off in the pattern repeat, but since it only affected about 12 stitches, its probably only noticeable to me. This was also the first time I’ve ever done a picot bind off and, although I’m pleased with the result, it took ages. Seriously, I clocked about 4 hours on just binding off.

photo 1 photo 4 photo 5 photo 2 photo 4

2 thoughts on “Finished Project: Promise Me Lace Shawl

Leave a Reply

