Meet Moon! (and whining)

Our house got a new member! Meet the double tail betta, Moon!

Moon in his tank

Moon in his tank

I wanted to share this serene scene before my whining begins. I have been exhausted and frustrated lately, and Moon was a gift to myself after a particularly crappy day. October is always a hectic month for me, and this was no exception. Over the weekend before Halloween, I had two parties at my home, one for Samhain and a pumpkin carving gathering. When you include planning/shopping day, the events, and cleanup, that was a four day period of rushing around and being busy constantly. Plus, I still had to work during that time. Don’t get me wrong, I love having everyone over, but I was worn out. I had hoped that the coming week at work out be peaceful, but I was wrong.

Basically, since I finished my degree in August (and sort of before then as well) I have been attempting to get a full time librarian job where I am currently employed. Since May, I have seen 6 positions open that I would’ve been interested in, and I was able to interview for 3 of those. I was turned down for everyone and told that I would be considered for the next opening because they really wanted me to move up. After I watched the second 3 positions be filled without even an interview process, my frustration blossomed. I didn’t (and still don’t) understand why they claim they want me to move up, and then keep me down.

One thing I was told was that I needed more experience. So my manager and I got approval for me to help with storytimes. I have been doing so for about 6 weeks. Then, out of the blue, on Wednesday I was banned from helping anymore because “customer service staff is not permitted to assist with storytimes.” Never mind that I have my MLS and am fully qualified to do my own storytimes, because my title is a lowly circ monkey, I can’t do anything.

To add insult to injury, I got some more bad news later the same day. Two positions recently opened, one of which I have been watching and waiting for since the rumblings about it started 10 months ago. When it finally opened, I was overjoyed. However, I have since found out that they’ve decided to switch around what the position is so that it won’t really be a librarian position anymore. I was told I could apply, but I wasn’t what they wanted for it anymore. Fan-freaking-tastic.

Then today, I learned that the other position that opened will be filled by someone taking a lateral move. The position that person will vacate is one I’m not qualified for. So, there’s another opportunity gone.

Had you asked me in April, I would’ve said I loved where I worked and was looking forward to moving up there.

If you ask me now, I’d tell you I’m done with it. I went online today and applied for every librarian job within a 40 minute drive of here that I’m qualified for, which is all of 3 jobs, but it’s better than nothing.

I’m sure if anyone from my library saw this post and traced it back to me, I would be black listed but right now I don’t care. The politics and game playing going on is more than I can deal with right now. They stop current employees from advancing, while trying to keep them on the line as long as possible, and then wonder why we have staff members flying out the door to other systems. I’ve seen coworkers wait years for promotions they had earned, and several still not get them. This is not the type of business where hard work and a good reputation help you to advance. You have to brown-nose and play their mind games, and I honestly doubt it is worth it.

That’s the end of my rant. I have the next two days off and I want to forget about that place for the time being.

Back to my spinning wheel I go…

Leave a Reply

