Lace Race

Just starting out

9-18 Progress: Just starting out. Feel a little like I am knitting in a black hole. Doesn’t feel like this is getting any bigger.

Trying to knit the Promise Me shawl in only 12 days so that I can feel ready to start my lace shawl MKAL. This is my first time really knitting lace, first time using lace weight yarn (or mohair for that matter, which is its own challenge), and first time including beads. I decided to keep a pictorial diary of my progress.

A little more

9-20 Progress: 99 Stitches. Things are picking up.

9-22 Progress: 189 stitches. Finished stockinette section

9-22 Progress: 189 stitches. Finished stockinette section. This section was completed quickly and easily enough. Hopefully I have enough time to get the lace done.

9-23 Progress: Row 7 of 1st Lace Section

9-23 Progress: Row 7 of 1st Lace Section
I realized that I had skipped the part of the pattern that instructed for the first and last stitches to be ktb. Not sure if that will be a problem.
The lace is taking forever. These S2PSSO’s are driving me crazy. Adding the beads takes more time that I had expected.

9/24 - 14 of 16 rows in first lace section completed. Yarn seems to be lasting a lot longer than the pattern estimated.

9/25 - Finished first lace section. 2 out of 14 rows completed of second lace section. Row 1 was missing a stitch. Still couldn't figure out why.

9/25 – Finished first lace section. 2 out of 14 rows completed of second lace section. Row 1 was missing a stitch. Still couldn’t figure out why.

 

9/26- 8 of 14 rows completed. Extra stitch and missing stitch happened again in the first section on two different rows. Still cannot find the error but it has caused the lace pattern to be a little wonky.  12 rows to go

9/26- 8 of 14 rows completed. Extra stitch and missing stitch happened again in the first section on two different rows. Still cannot find the error but it has caused the lace pattern to be a little wonky.
12 rows to go

9/27 Second lace section completed. 6 rows to go

9/27 Second lace section completed. 6 rows to go

9/28 - No knitting because my hand was sore from painting the living room 9/29 - Finished two rows. First row took 40 minutes because I had to go up a needle size (per the pattern) and it made the stitches tight. 4 rows to go

9/28 – No knitting because my hand was sore from painting the living room
9/29 – Finished two rows. First row took 40 minutes because I had to go up a needle size (per the pattern) and it made the stitches tight. 4 rows to go

9/30 - Started picot bind off. Took an hour and a half to bind off a third of the stitches. Saving the rest for knit night tomorrow.

9/30 – Started picot bind off. Took an hour and a half to bind off a third of the stitches. Saving the rest for knit night tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

