Everything and Nothing

I have been in a very peculiar mood lately. I have been in the mood to start endless new projects, yet have very little desire to actually work on them. This lead to having about 5 barely-begun WIPS on the side of my bed the other night. I mean really, I was sleeping with so much yarn it is a wonder I never woke up wrapped in a yarn cocoon.

I have been having this same issue with books. I keep checking out books, hoping something will spark my interest. The last book I actually read was terrible. I have started the next book I’m reviewing and have made some progress on it. However, there are several other books that I’m interested in that I keep moving from one reading location, to the other. These poor books are stuck in endless transit between the nightstand and coffee table, yet haven’t been opened.

I blame my almost a solid week of headaches on this weird state I’m in. Sadly, I can’t seem to get rid of those or shake this odd feeling.

Texas is finally about to see a little burst of “fall weather” (meaning it will be 85 instead of 100 degrees) and we should get some rain, so maybe that will help wake me up a little bit.

I cast on (yet another) new project last night. This is the Promise Me shawl by Boo Knits. In keeping with my Yarn Diet, I actually dug into the stash and pulled out a few balls of the lovely Rowan Kidsilk Haze in Dewberry to use.  This is my first foray into lace knitting and I am actually doing to to train for the Boo Knits Morticia Mystery Knit Along that I plan to do in October. The creator of the Boo patterns suggested trying the Promise Me pattern before attempting the MKAL if you’re unfamiliar with lace. I’m hoping the mystery element will bolster my confidence and convince me that I really am capable of knitting lace if I just focus. However, this training requires me to knit an entire lace shawl between now and October 1st so I can start the MKAL.

This will also be my very first time using beads in my knitting. I really hope I’m not getting in over my head here…

My yarn and beads

My yarn and beads

Some progress

Some progress

3 thoughts on “Everything and Nothing

  1. That yarn looks difficult to knit with. I hope you don’t soon get fed up with it! The colour is lovely and the beads will be beautiful. I have been doing something similar, but I intend to stitch the beads on the bottom afterwards, to give a sort of necklace effect. Good luck with it. I shall be pleased to watch your progress.

    • All of the reviews I have read from others who knit this shawl in the same yarn have complained about the yarn. So far, I haven’t had any major issues with it, but I haven’t had to frog anything significant. I did have to rip back about 10 stitches and it was a challenged because the mohair was to snag up. It does make it difficult to see the the stitches now that I’m in the lace. Like I am having to do “Yo S2PSSO” and the YO is wanted to cling to the S2 and make it difficult to pass it over. I just finished a with about 30 of those and it took me about an hour to do one row. Luckily, there aren’t too many of those.

Leave a Reply

