Yarn Diet and 10k

For the last six months or so, I have been on a major yarn-buying binge (as is obvious from my posts about yarn purchases). However, during that time I haven’t been a very prolific knitter. I have knit. I have finished several smaller things, but I haven’t made a dent in my yarn stash.

As I’ve mentioned before, I have been doing the Yarnathon (mentioned here, here. here, and here)over at Eat.Sleep.Knit. With my last purchase, I finally made it to the 10k mark. That means I have purchased at least 10,936 yards of yarn just from Eat.Sleep.Knit. I can pretty easily say I haven’t knit anywhere near that much. That means my yarn closet is overflowing with unused yarn, just ripe with potential. Yet, I keep ignoring it to go on to new things and buy more and more yarn.

So I decided, it’s time for a yarn diet. This seems like a pretty good time to do so. I’m on an actual food diet (and down 9lbs already, thank you very much) so I should continue that restraint in other aspects of my life. Plus, that means that I can use yarn as weight-loss rewards.

In an effort to assess how overwhelming my stash really is, I finally got around to putting it all on Ravelry, I also went through and added all of the projects I have planned (that I could remember at that exact moment) to my queue. All in all, I have about 40 stashed yarns (there’s still a couple new purchases to add I think) and 15 queued projects. Maybe that’s not so bad after all… Granted, several are larger, time consuming projects, but I haven’t exceeded what I can accomplish in my lifetime, yet.

Some of my newest purchases:

Numma Numma – The Usual in Cupcakes – no project planned yet

Madelinetosh – Lace in Oxblood – for my Morticia MKAL

Knitwhits Handpaints – Freia Ombre Fingering in Nightshade – my theory is to make a pair of really tall socks that will show off the color changes.

Ombre

Ombre

Tosh LAce

Tosh LAce

The Usual

The Usual

One thought on “Yarn Diet and 10k

  1. Pingback: What Yarn Diet? | Good Witch Knits

Leave a Reply

