Mawata Mittens

I heard that you can knit with unspun silk hankies (also known as Mawata). After watching a few tutorial videos, I really wanted to try it. I quickly ordered up some beautiful dyed silk hankies, check out a pattern book, and today I got started. So far, it’s a bit like knitting with cobwebs; very clingy and light. I am enjoying the rustic looking fabric that is being created. I wanted to share some photos from today.

The bag of 40 grams of mawata

The bag of 40 grams of mawata

One chunk of hankies

One chunk of hankies

A single cocoon

A single cocoon

After drafting

After drafting

The cuff of my mitten, so far

The cuff of my mitten, so far

 

My mawata came from Wooliebullie on Etsy and the color is Peony. The pattern I am using is from the book The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns. This really is an interesting book that allows for patterns in any gauge.

The Yarn Harlot made her own pair of Mawata mittens, which inspired this project and she is the one who recommended the book I’m using. She also offers some useful Q&A about using Mawata.

Here is a great video on knitting with unspun mawata.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

