Graduation

Well, it finally happened. Friday, August 9, I graduated with my Master of Library Science. I am so incredibly relieved and overjoyed to be done. I finished my program incredibly quickly (It took about 14 months) because I loaded myself with three classes a semester. Each semester, my advisor’s office warned me that that three classes could be hard to handle, and I assured them I would be fine. I was, honestly. It was a lot of work on top of already working 30 hours a week at the library, but not undoable. This last semester, I assured the advising office that, not only could I take three classes, I could do my comprehensive exam on top of it (even though one of the classes I was taking was considered a prerequisite for the test). After some deliberation, they agreed to allow me to do, against their advice. I scheduled a week of vacation from work and spent it engrossed in stress and writing my end of program exam. They warned me I might not pass but I did. I got behind on my work for my regular classes but I managed a breakneck schedule of catching up. The last few weeks of classes were exhausting. One class (Information Access and Knowledge Inquiry) had a very heavy workload. In the days leading up to graduation I was staying up until 2 a.m., working on my final assignments while at my actual job, and being more and more tired and worn out. The night before graduation I thought I would get a good night’s sleep to catch up, but stayed up to read instead. Graduation day meant waking up, getting dressed, driving the hour to my college, standing in a very warm room in full regalia and heels for over an hour, sitting through two hours of ceremony, then a huge dinner with the family, a very long drive home in a storm with my mother (don’t get me started on that), then a change of clothes and back out for drinks with friends. By Friday evening I stumbled home tired and hot in a way I have rarely been in my life. And now it is all done! And I believe I finished it all with a 4.0 GPA (I still need the grade from my final class but, unless I bombed the final annotated bibliography, I expect an A).

Here’s a few pictures to represent the day of graduation for me.

A green apple jolly rancher bomb and Sara's  bizarre shot

A green apple jolly rancher bomb and Sara’s bizarre shot

image_5

My view while waiting at the Coliseum for graduation

image_1

Family dinner panorama

image_4

My in Jim Bean sunglasses they gave us at the bar

 

2 thoughts on “Graduation

Leave a Reply

