Hmm…

So I started a project tonight and, after casting on 450 stitches (it’s a scarf knit lengthwise) and then completing the first row (so 900 stitches), I went to look back at how the first row had turned out and something hit me. The scarf is done in linen stitch. Other than the texture of the stitch and some fringe, it’s just a plain old rectangular scarf. I was planning to knit it in black and bronze. Here’s the issue though; knitting a texture based project in black is like coloring on white paper with a white crayon. You can work and work and work, but you’re not going to see results. The black is just too dark to show the fine texture of the linen stitch in fingering weight yarn. Which is really disappointing because the pattern is lovely and I adore the yarn I picked out but, after row one, I stood there in the shower and had to really consider whether it’s even worth continuing. I mean, why do a pattern that is all about the gorgeous texture if you can’t see it?

I love the pattern so much that it’s probably worth saving for later (I never make a pattern twice). Plus I think I love it because the examples are bright and colorful and this one wouldn’t be that.

But I put 900 stitches into this already and I really have to think about whether I want to rip it out and start something new.

The pattern in question is the Kiogu Linen Stitch Scarf from Churchmouse Yarns and Teas.

I’m going to need to think about this one some more. And look at some other patterns so see what would work better for my yarn.

Isn’t it lovely?

2 thoughts on “Hmm…

  1. Linen stitch is SO pretty, but I can’t imagine making a whole scarf with it. Especially with that thin yarn. I think I would give up very quickly. I made a bunch of bookmarks with linen stitch for Christmas this year, and that was much more instantly gratifying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

