Pay Day is Yarn Day

So I got paid and was off work today so I decided to go yarn shopping. My plan was to get yarn to make a witch pattern from the book Knitted Pirates, Princesses, Witches, Wizards, and Fairies that I have.

I’m using the witch

I needed to get some flesh toned DK yarn and something for the dress- ideally purple. I ended up at Madtosh in Fort Worth and got some of the Tosh DK to use in Fawn (for the skin) and a purple for the clothing. I wanted to do more colors so that the different clothing items wouldn’t all be the same color, and I wanted a blond/brown for the hair, but at about $18 a skein, it wasn’t happening. Once I make it to that point, I can probably pick up some other DK yarn for hair and accents that costs less.

Then I needed some needles, but I had forgotten to bring the pattern book and I wasn’t sure which I needed, DPN or straight. So, I bought both, just in case. With all the needles I have at home, I didn’t have any smaller than a size 4.

Of course, I also picked up a few other yarns. I couldn’t resist the brilliant, bright colors of the SweetGeorgia sock yarn. I don’t even knit socks. I tried it once… It was going fine but I absolutely hated the tiny needles, tiny yarn, and tiny stitches. I have been feet, it would’ve taken me years to finish those. I might use this to experiment with the two-at-a-time socks. That, I might actually do.

The Scrumptious yarn was, exactly that, scrumptious. I couldn’t resist the silky, rich purple. I bought two skeins to give me more options for what to make with it.

The Manos del Uruguay called to me because it’s kind of different. It’ll probably end up as a Boho style hat like my Malabrigo did.

All in all, I spent far more than I planned. I told myself I would only spend that much if I found the colors of Rowan Kidsilk Haze that I wanted to make a rainbow scarf. They didn’t have any, but I still managed to spend a ton.

I cast on the leg of the witch doll tonight, but I can tell this is going to be slow going. There’s a lot of little pieces and lots of making up. It only seems appropriate to make myself a little purple-garbed witch to match the blog. 🙂 However, I am also working on a hat right now that I’m really enjoying, so it will probably be my primary focus.

Leave a Reply

