Dessert Yarn: Part 3- The Product

I started a hat from the rainbow shade yarns I dyed with the Kool-Aid. I started with the Helix Striped Hat by Corrie Purdum but ended up significantly changing it. I did six rows of ribbing, two purl ridges in each color, and then 3 rows in the white. The rainbow yarn is my Cestari that I died and the white was some that I dug out of my stash. I think it is some variety of Dark Horse but I don’t remember.

I think the hat turned out too big for the baby it is for but he’ll grow into it. His mom saw the photo tonight and was very excited about this being his hat for spring.

Roman's Rainbow Hat

Roman’s Rainbow Hat

A few more things about dyeing with Kool-Aid:

  • The process smells delicious but don’t actually taste it (not that you would), because it is terribly bitter without the added sugar and in such a concentrated form. (not that anyone would taste it… I certainly didn’t). 
  • I ended up dyeing the purple and indigo a second time because I wasn’t happy with the final colors. The indigo is still patchy, but not bad.
  • You can microwave wool. Who knew? Not me.
  • Microwaving wool in a dye soak on and off for several hours will make your microwave nice and steamy, which is great for stuck on gunk. My microwave is nice and clean now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

