Oddity

So the only people I really know who knit are my friend Amanda and my mom. That’s about it. Frankly, I’d love to make friends with some other knitting types but there seems to be a bit of an issue.

I’m kind of an oddity in the knitting community.

I’m 23 years old, not married, no kids.

Now, I won’t play into the stereotypes that all knitters are old grannies, because that’s certainly not true. However, the secondary set of knitters seems to be younger women who are moms. I don’t really fit with that group, either.

It would be nice to find a Stitch ‘n’ Bitch group in my area with people my age but there’s doesn’t seem to be a big crowd of twenty-somethings with a love for knitting. Which is a shame, really.

Either way, I’m hoping to join a local knit night that meets at a Starbucks not far from me. It seems like a pretty good group and I appreciate that it doesn’t meet at a yarn shop. I have this paranoia about attending knit ins at a yarn store because I feel like I need to be working on a project with only supplies from that shop. Like somehow they’re going to see me has this horrible yarn traitor, entering their territory with foreign goods. I’m sure this is mostly in my head, but it has held me back. I also don’t like to enter a yarn store if I’m not planning to buy anything because I will either A) end up purchasing things I don’t need because the temptation is too great or B) feel terrible for taking up the shop’s time and not purchasing anything.

So Starbucks, it is. Now the next hurdle is finding a break in my work for grad school to actually make it down there.

4 thoughts on “Oddity

Leave a Reply

