A Bit Crazy

So last night I wound up some beautiful new yarn (Classy with Cashmere in Happy Forest) and was just about to cast on when… I had a needle snafu. For some reason my needle tip wouldn’t screw onto the cord. I have the Knitter’s Pride Dreamz interchangeable set and I absolutely love them. However, I think I must have overtightened the connection and stripped the threading.

Somehow, this was my only set of size 7 circulars so I wasn’t able to start the hat. “No problem”, I thought. “I’ll just zip out tomorrow to get another.” Well, it didn’t work out that way. My local yarn shop was out of the size 7’s and, with the time I got off work, I wasn’t able to make it to Fort Worth to make it to the shop that had them.

So I had to sit there and think about what I wanted to do. I could run by the nearest crafting mega-store and buy a set of needles to cast on with and then switch to the Dreamz once I could. I realized it was pretty silly I couldn’t wait one or two days to get the replacement needle I need before starting the project. It’s not as though I don’t have plenty of other things I could be working on. I still need to do that second Knit Night Glove. I have a little baby blanket on the needles and a scarf.

So, for once, I’m forcing myself to practice a little knitting self control and actually waiting to get the needle I want before starting the new hat. I can abandon those projects again on Friday..

In the meantime, I’m working on the Dandy Scarf in Handmaiden Yarn’s Maiden Hair color Peridot. I will say, this is a really sumptuous yarn, and the pattern is nice and simple. I haven’t really gotten into this project, in spite of those two things, but I hope that will change.

20130220-195704.jpg

Leave a Reply

