Colder Climate

One thing about being a Texan knitter is that we rarely have a true cold snap here, so there’s fewer opportunities to show off your knitting. For example, according the the weatherman, today is a “cold” day. Which means its a high of 46 degrees (Fahrenheit) and drizzling. It’s kind of disappointing that it rarely gets much colder than that here and, more often than not, is much warmer. I feel like I can rarely wear out my knit items. Now, I know what you’re thinking, I could warmer-weather items like cotton tops and lacey things. That is true, but I still long to knit up a really heavy-duty wool something and be able to wear it out without sweating.

It doesn’t help that I’m already remarkably warm-natured. I recently finished a knit hat and I would’ve loved to have worn it today but, honestly, I only need to make it from the house to the car and then the car to work. The sweater I’m wearing is more than warm enough (actually it’s too warm once I’m inside).

I guess I can hope that we’ll have a freak cold front roll through. We had snow once this year, at Christmas, but in the past we’ve had icy conditions crop up as late as March. Maybe then I’ll get to wear my new hat.

20130220-193926.jpg

Leave a Reply

