My, aren’t we glove shaped

20130219-162924.jpg

I’ve been working on my first set of fingerless gloves. The pattern is Knit Night Gloves by Judy Marples. I recently made the matching Knit Night Hat in Malabrigo Rios yarn in the color Zarzamora (Spanish for blackberry, an apt color name). Since I had another skein I thought I would go ahead and do the gloves.

I’m still fairly inexperienced with double pointed needles (which is code for “I’ve only used them to knit half a sick that nearly drove me mad) and this reminded me that I’m not a fan of them. I always feel like there’s a needle poking my palm as I knit. Also, although I never had problems with laddering before, I certainly have with this project. The stockinette body of the glove is fine, but in the textured cuff there’s blaring areas of imperfection from where the needles joined. It’s driving me a bit crazy but I’ve decided to hope for better on the second glove.

Only 8 rows of stockinette and the knuckle cuff and I’m done.

Leave a Reply

